New Year Python Meme

I’ve been seeing this meme around, I believe Tarek Ziade originated it.

1. What’s the coolest Python application, framework or library you have discovered in 2011?

NLTK. I haven’t actually worked with it that much (I was trying to use it to parse recipes for my college honours project, but didn’t have enough time to get it working), but I was really impressed with what you can do with it. I would love to spend some more time playing around with it and do something cool.

2. What new programming technique did you learn in 2011?

I’m definitely late to the party with this, but I found the git-flow branching model this year. After I “discovered” it, I realised that everyone else in the world had already heard of it and uses it. I think it’s a really cool model and easily extendible and works really well for all sizes of projects. I also started using virtualenv and virtualenvwrapper as a standard for all my projects this year.

3. What’s the name of the open source project you contributed the most in 2011 ? What did you do?

I haven’t actually contributed to any major open source projects, although I did open source my honours project (Bendakai/source code.) I hope to remedy that next year.

4. What was the Python blog or website you read the most in 2011?

Planet Python.

5. What are the three top things you want to learn in 2012?

  • Most of my real world programming experience has been with Python/Django, but I’d like to expand that and become more fluent in other languages. I’m not as familiar with Javascript as I should be, and I would love to learn some Objective-C.
  • I also haven’t had very much experience with tests, and I’d especially like to learn about GUI testing frameworks like Selenium, etc.
  • I’d like to expand my sysadmin skills.

6. What are the top software, app or lib you wish someone would write in 2012?

I really want someone to come up with a good standard for storing recipes and nutrition information (there are a few candidates, I particularly like RxOL.) I also want there to be datasets that properly store recipes in that format and have good licenses.

I would also really like an app where I can catalogue and rate movies and tv shows (by episode) that I’ve watched, own, have downloaded, want to watch, etc. You could do so many cool things with that data. I actually tried to start writing this earlier this year, but didn’t get anywhere with it.

I’d also like a book cataloguing site where the concept of a “work” and a “book”/”item” is separate, so it can deal with omnibuses and anthologies elegantly.

Want to do your own list ? Here’s how:

  • copy-paste the questions and answer to them in your blog
  • tweet it with the #2012pythonmeme hashtag
2 comments


Leave a Reply

